Johannesburg: Kaizer Chiefs and Bloemfontein Celitc played to a 1-1 draw in a 2020-21 DStv Premiership match at FNB Stadium in Soweto on Saturday evening.

The result moved Chiefs up to 12th spot on the standings but stretched their winless run in the league to six matches as they now look forward to the new year. Celtic, who levelled matters through Tumelo Mangweni following Anthony Agay’s opener, jumped up to ninth.

Chiefs opened the scoring on the eight minute mark through a manner in which they significantly profited last season. A well-worked corner-kick offered Khama Billiat time and space and the Zimbabwean picked out an unmarked Agay who nodded home from close range.

The Amakhosi came close to doubling their lead in the 22nd minute. The hosts opened up Celtic on the counter-attack and Billiat had a clear sight of goal after wrong-footing Lucky Baloyi, but he pushed his resulting effort wide of goal.

Siwelele made no fewer than four changes at the break as they went in search of the equaliser with head coach John Maduka leaving no stone unturned.

Chiefs should’ve doubled their lead just short of the hour mark as a floating free-kick fell at Leonardo Castro’s feet but the Colombian’s effort flew wide from close range.

Mangweni made the desired impact off the bench for the second game running, as he equalised for the visitors in the 67th minute. Fellow second-half substitute Ryan de Jongh picked out the Phunya Sele Sele attacker who brought the ball under his spell with a superb first touch before firing an unstoppable shot past Daniel Akpeyi.

Neither team were able to create any noteworthy chances in the ensuing minutes as they ultimately settled for a point apiece.

Kaizer Chiefs (1) 1 (Agay 8′)

Bloemfontein Celtic (0) 1 (Mangweni 67′)

Kaizer Chiefs: Akpeyi; Mphahlele, Cardoso (Moleko 88′), Mathoho, Ngezana, Agay, Blom (Ntiya-Ntiya 87′), Ngcobo (Parker 66′), Manyama (Katsande 87′), Billiat, Castro (Zuma 75′).

Bloemfontein Celtic: Mabokgwane; Matjila, Lingwati, Mahashe, Baloyi, Phalane (De Jongh 46′), Luthuli (Ndwandwe 66′), Masuku (Njoti 46′), Potsane (Mangweni 46′), Letsoalo, Mabena (Sera 46′).