Thursday, 06 February 2020

Bloemfontein: The VKB Knights welcome Warriors to Mangaung Oval for their first Momentum One Day Cup home game this season.

After a sour start to the campaign, losing by 94 runs away to Hollywoodbets Dolphins in the One Day Cup opener last week the Bloemfontein based team has renewed confidence for their first home game.

“We did not have the best of start on the first game of the season against the Dolphins, but I think the guys bowled well and I am happy with our fielding effort. I am proud that the guys are doing everything collectively”, commented Head Coach of VKB Knights Alan Kruger.

“Going forward we are a happy camp, we trust in our ability and we want to set the record straight, especially with a team we have already beaten twice this season. We want to continue the momentum at our home turf to register our first win of the white ball format”, added Kruger.

Wandile Makwetu has been appointed as captain of the home side in Pite van Biljon’s absence. The former South Africa Under-19 captain has had a good season with the bat so far, for both the VKB Knights in the 4-Day Domestic series and Free State in the 3-Day Provincial series and 1-Day Provincial Cup.

“Wandile has come with positive energy to the team and coming to Bloemfontein from the Titans couldn’t have been easy but he has adapted well to the set-up. He has grown to be a natural leader and I think this is going to be a good platform for him to showcase what he can do in the future”, said the Head Coach. Pite van Biljon has some discomfort in his heel and has been rested for this match but he will be back for the next match against Dolphins.

The leading run-scorer of the CSA Provincial One-Day Challenge has also been included in the squad. The Northern Cape opening batsman, Jacques Snyman averages over 180 in the CSA Provincial One Day Cup.

“Jacques has knocked the door down. He has put unbelievable scores for Northern Cape and the South Africa Invitation team against England.” concluded Kruger.

VKB Knights Squad Announcement:

Raynard van Tonder, Grant Mokoena, Jacques Snyman, Keegan Petersen, Patrick Kruger, Andries Gous, Shaun von Berg, Wandile Makwetu (captain), Shadley van Schalkwyk, Corne Dry, Tshepo Ntuli, Mbulelo Budaza, Ottneil Baartman, Obus Pienaar.