Sunday, 20 January 2019

Pretoria: SuperSport United brought an end to their winless run in the Absa Premiership with a 2-1 victory over Bloemfontein Celtic at Lucas Moripe Stadium in Atteridgeville on Sunday afternoon.

Goals from Bradley Grobler and Teboho Mokoena guiding Matsatsantsa to all three points and up to seventh place on the log standings, a point and place above Siwelele.

Mokoena fired the first shot in anger in the fifth minute, drawing a good save out of Patrick Tignyemb who would feel the full force of the midfielder’s wrath later on.

SuperSport pulled ahead in the 14ht minute through Grobler who returned to the starting eleven for the first time since September following a long battle with injury.

The forward proving that he hasn’t lost any of his predatory skills, pouncing on the loose ball inside the area and firing home after Celtic failed to clear Siyabonga Nhlapo’s cross into the area.

Reneilwe Letsholonyane squandered a chance to double the hosts lead on the cusp of halftime. The midfielder beat the offside trap, but failed to find the target with the goal at his mercy.

Mokoena duly found SuperSport’s second in the 57th minute with a stunning goal that left Tignyemb with no chance.

The midfielder firing an unstoppable long range shot into the roof of the net as the Phunya Sele Sele shot-stopper could only watch and admire the ball flying past him.

Second half substitutes Neo Maema and Tshegofatso Mabasa teamed up to halve the deficit six minutes later.

Maema weaved his way past Dean Furman before playing a precise ball to Mabasa who took a touch before prodding home for his sixth goal of the campaign.

Celtic pushed forward in search of an equaliser against a shaky SuperSport defence, but the hosts remained resolute until the final whistle as they registered their first win of the year.

SuperSport United (1) 2 (Grobler 14′ Mokoena 57′)

Bloemfontein Celtic (0) 1 (Mabasa 63′)

SuperSport United: Williams; Nhlapo (Kekana 70′), Khumalo, Mutale, Bhasera, Furman, Letsholonyane, Modiba, Mokoena (Ntshangase 74′), Ghampani (Malinga 86′), Grobler.

Bloemfontein Celtic: Tignyemb; Pfumbidzai, Lingwati, Rikhotso, De Jongh (Maema 62′), Phalane, Baloyi, Mashikinya, Dlamini (Motshegwa 76′), Masuku (Mabasa 46′), Mabena.